A Message From the ECS Dean, Associate Deans and Department Chairs on H1B Suspension

 A Message From the ECS Dean, Associate Deans and Department Chairs on H1B Suspension

June 25, 2020

The federal government issued a decree Monday that suspends certain visa programs. One of those in particular is the H1B visa. Oversimplifying a bit, H1B is the visa that most of our international students use to get a job in the US after graduation: It’s the most common avenue for taking them from Syracuse grad to employment. It is our expectation and hope that our highly valued international students will continue to be able to change from their student visa to the H1B visa.

On behalf of the ECS dean, associate deans, and department chairs, we note that our international students are vital to the nation’s engineering and computer science sectors. The notion that these graduates are taking jobs from US citizens is backwards: Their brilliance and innovation helps to create many jobs and solve extraordinarily important problems. It is in our national interests to protect the primary avenue for scientists and engineers to come to the US, work alongside US citizens, and strengthen our economy, diversity, and quality of life.

Without the influx of talent that our international students bring, American businesses will have less access to the talent they need to create and support technological advances we have come to depend on, and our worldwide advantage in technology innovation will diminish. We’ll also be missing out on extraordinary coworkers, neighbors, and friends.

After all, among the eight signatories on this message, five are here only because of the H1B program. Our College would be far less without their expertise, dedication, and compassion for the Syracuse family. Let us close this message by affirming that our international colleagues at Syracuse are an integral part of this family. You are wanted here and you belong here. We will continue to offer you our most sincere support in ECS.


Dr. Riyad Aboutaha, Senior Associate Dean, Academic Administration and Space Management

Dr. Andria Costello Staniec, Department Chair, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr. Julie Hasenwinkel, Department Chair, Biomedical and Chemical Engineering

Dr. Sinéad Mac Namara, Associate Dean, Student Affairs

Dr. Young Moon, Department Chair, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Dr. Jae Oh, Department Chair, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Dr. Dacheng Ren, Interim Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Programs

Dr. Cole Smith, Dean, Engineering and Computer Science